{ONE}: About me; New Media

Hello!

My name is Alyssa Rains and due to my status in a class called New Media, I am required to keep a blog. Take into consideration that I am not one for blogging but have an open mind to what this class will teach me.

Now that introductions are out of the way, I suppose I will reveal some facts about me and interests of mine. I am an East Texas native, born and raised in Lufkin, Texas. After graduating from Hudson High School in 2007 I went to Angelina College for two years to study Journalism. While I was there I worked for The Pacer for three semesters and was Editor-in-Chief for two of those semesters. Once I acquired all the credits I could get at A.C., I transfered to S.F.A. Currently, I am a senior and am majoring in Journalism with an emphasis in Photojournalism and a minor in Business Communications. I plan to graduate in the Fall of this year (fingers crossed). Once I graduate, I will continue to stay at S.F.A. and get certified in Secondary Education. Teaching is something I have wanted to do for the past three or four years and I believe it is what I am supposed to be doing.

My hobbies are few and far between because my main goal at this point is to get my Bachelors degree and become completely independent. However, I do have some hobbies I suppose I can announce.  Photography is something I have loved since high school. Being able to see your work being oo’d and awe’d at gives, I’m sure, everyone a great feeling. Something else I love doing is playing the piano. I took piano lessons when I was eight and quit when I was ten but picked it back up in my senior year of high school. That’s all the hobbies I can think of right now. Man, I need more things to do!

NEW MEDIA

New media, according to en.wikipedia.org, is a “term meant to encompass the emergence of digital, computerized, or networked information and communication technologies in the later part of the 20th century.” Unless you live in a remote village that knows nothing about newspapers, computers,cell phones and various other mediums, then you are an active supporter and user of media. Because humans have this need to create something that is bigger and better than what was made just last year, we keep coming out with mediums like the iPad and smartphones. These devices are capable of brining the news straight to our hands, this is a phenomenon that people one hundred years ago never saw coming. Lucky for all of us, we have the opportunity to learn and enthrall ourselves in these brilliantly designed technologies.

Gutenberg, the inventor of “movable type,” started the trend of creating mediums to bring to the people of that time media, or Bibles. A big leap led us into the future, when Bill Gates invented Microsoft, thus beginning an era of the internet. Fast forward to today and we have things that we take for granted. For instance, I am a lover of phones. With this unfortunate love and obsession comes a need to have whats new on the market and better, faster phones come out each year. In December I got the HTC EVO but I know that just in a few months a better phone will launch. However, I plan to keep supporting my phone until I lose it or drop in the toilet or something. See what I mean? With the incredible advances in technology comes an even more incredible need for something bigger and better.

Ten, twenty, fifty years from now, when something better than what we have now is created will be known as new media and what we know now of new media will be considered “movable type” or just the beginning of whats going to happen in the future.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “{ONE}: About me; New Media

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Jason

    Media is constantly changing, I don’t think we’ll be using the same formats in 5 years that we use today. Plus all the media that is still not known to the populous but to governments for development. They are always growing faster than we are as a public society.

Leave a comment