{EIGHT}: Digital Journalism

If you have had the fortune of your beloved relative to read you a bedtime story then you will understand what I am about to state. Stories have a tremendous way of sticking with us forever. I remember as a child my Nana would read stories out of a book called The Jack Tales, more specifically, “Sop Doll” has been embedded into my brain. This one story consisted of a new employee working at a mill and cats that were actually witches. But this story really stands out to me because of the manner my Nana told it. She altered her voice to sound eerily like the character that was speaking and while she narrated she really knew how to grab attentions by using tones and dynamics. Tales are still around but now we have a way of making them even better! Digital-izing them.

 

How many of us can say that we listen to every bit of a story even if it has a undertone of boring in it? I am pretty sure none of us would say we do. I don’t believe that this is a generational product, I think it is because humans need something other than words to be able to have an interest in information being spoken. Fortunately, we have the aid of videos to help with the capacity of paying attention.

 

I couldn’t find a better way of explaining digital storytelling than how Joe Lambert, co-founder of the Center for the Digital Story Telling does, “Digital storytelling begins with the notion that in the not too distant future, sharing one’s story through multiple mediums of imagery, text, voice and animation will be the principle hobby of the world’s people.” This quote really sums up digital storytelling in a precise way. Telling a story through the art and digital resources we have today. Not only can we use these tools for just tales, we can use them for news. Being able to visualize what is happening around us makes it easier to understand and comprehend.

 

Below, I am posting two example of digital storytelling. The first one is about a runner named Laura who shares her thoughts about her favorite hobby. I like this video because the director did an excellent job capturing her in her element while also bringing his art through by using vibrant colors, visual effects, excerpts of from her interview and a well-fitting song. The second video is about a man named Matt who traveled across the world showing off his signature dance to each of the natives to the countries he payed a visit to. I watch this video anytime I doubt myself or am going through struggles because this video shows that yes, our cultures and skin may be different but we are people, not monsters who should enjoy even the smallest of things in life, like dancing.

 

P.S.: Where did Spring Break go?!?!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment