{Four}: YouTube; Good vs. Bad

Launched in February of 2005, YouTube has now localized in 23 countries across 24 different languages. This viral site receives 24 hours worth of video every minute. These videos range from showing you how to put on makeup to having a grown man chase you with a power drill. One can honestly say that YouTube provides hours and hours worth of random-osity, if that is a word. I truly believe that YouTube is another site that can be beneficial but can also cause major headaches, like most medias these days. Heck, life causes headaches. Time and time again I have used YouTube as a resource for a research paper, gotten answers to life questions or questions in general and explored the sites many pages to decipher which smart phone I wanted. I don’t think many professors like that their students use this site as a guide. Thankfully, for this blog we were actually supposed to use YouTube as our resource.

Below is the result of me searching for “Instructional Video Fail:”

If you watched the whole video then I am very proud of you! I took all I had in me to keep watching because it just seemed so….. wrong. Firstly, why are they monkeys?! Why can’t they just be little kids? I know that in the end it says that these children were monkeys because they were all using wrong turning signals and weren’t sharing the sidewalk, but honestly, do they NEED to be monkeys? Not only were the monkeys, but it was only monkey faces. And not only was it just monkey faces but they were paper mache monkey faces. It was a tad frightening, in my opinion. Secondly, the kids all were injured so bad that they were put into the hospital. What kind of message sends this to people? To me, it is saying “Hey! If you don’t do this laundry list of things while riding your bike then you will be put in the hospital or die. Oh! and you will also be considered a monkey that has a paper mache face.” Thirdly, at 4:27 you are introduced to two kids who are sharing a bike. The larger child on the front of the bike broke his own bicycle and therefore is riding on his friends. Well, due to this characters larger size, the smaller kid can’t see around him which causes them both to fall into a hole. Might I mention that the hole would never be able to fit to kids plus a bike in it. Basically, this video is a complete fail and I think that these faces will always be burned into my memory.

The good instructional video I am posting on here is one that I believe will help a lot of people. I am definitely going to try this as soon as this blog is posted:

I try my hardest to take care of my skin to the best of my abilities. Because of many failed attempts to keep my skin clear I have frequented YouTube to see tips on how to have healthy skin. Today was no exception. I found this video to be helpful and I am going to try this and cross my fingers that it works. You can’t deny that you have at least had a blackhead once in your life. The owner of this video did very well with explaining the steps thoroughly and having a positive attitude that wasn’t annoying or overbearing. I find often that girls post videos with their makeup done up and their hair perfect and once that camera comes on they are playing with their hair. This girl was all natural and was merely trying to help viewers like me know simple and easy ways to shed their imperfections and show their fresh skin.

All in all, YouTube, I believe, is more beneficial than not. It entertains, inspires and informs those who take part in viewing the sites videos. More often than not you will find a video you like rather than the opposite. Thanks YouTube!

This video is for those who have cats, or dogs, who are always up to no good. Especially when you have expensive things that you cannot afford to replace. It features a cat who is constantly breaking things and always wants to be fed. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment